Day 2

Prompt

A very happy Saturday to you all! I hope the first day of Na/GloPoWriMo whetted your appetite for even more poetry.

Today’s featured participant is The Cat’s Pajam, which gives us a dreamy, sensual, and mysterious poem in response to Day One’s “story about the body” prompt.

Our daily featured online magazine is TYPO, which has published thirty-three issues, all of which you can browse. From their newest issue, I’ll point out Jasmine Dream Wagner’s “Fallen Angels,” a rumination on life in the internet age.

And now for our daily prompt (optional, as always). Today, I’d like to challenge you to write a poem based on a word featured in a tweet from Haggard Hawks, an account devoted to obscure and interesting English words. Will you choose a word like “aprosexia,” which means “an inability to concentrate”? Or maybe something like “greenout,” which is “the relief a person who has worked or lived in a snowy area for a long time feels on seeing something fresh and green for the first time”? Whatever you choose, happy writing!

Word Chosen

PEEL-THE-BONES was a 19th century term for bitterly cold or windy weather—so to PEEL was to go out in unsuitable or insufficient clothing given the conditions.

Happy Reading!

Wildfire

I still remember The sky was burning 
The thorns of icy winds had made a hole 
in the middle of the clouds 
through which smoke seeped and burned our teary eyes 
She smelled like blue lilacs in a field of green 
She froze when I called her name 
She didn't turn around
She didn't blink 
All I heard was her heart going faster 
But my heart outraced her. 
She looked like the past 
I was her ghost 
I was dead 
My stories had been passed around by people 
like a game of chinese whispers 
The same people who had bled and burnt my mind
They were afraid of the fire we had started
Cause they couldn't control it
They knew
It would either give light to the world or
It would burn the whole damn thing down

~ Dev

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started